BADBADNOTGOOD Announce New Album ‘Talk Memory’ with Searing New Single


Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers…

Greyscale photo of BADBADNOTGOODGreyscale photo of BADBADNOTGOOD

Photo for Artist by Jamal Burger

The new BADBADNOTGOOD album will feature appearances from Arthur Verocai, Terrace Martin, Karriem Riggins, Brandee Younger, and Laraaji.

Nearing five years since the release of their last album, BADBADNOTGOOD is officially back in action.

On Thursday morning, the group announced a follow-up to their 2016 album, IV, is locked and loaded for release this fall. The nine-track project, titled Talk Memory, is out on October 8th via XL Recordings, featuring a number of collaborations with Brazilian symphonic psyche specialist, Arthur Verocai (who recently appeared on the new Hiatus Kaiyote album, Mood Valiant,) as well as Terrace Martin, Karriem Riggins, Brandee Younger, and ambient pioneer Laraaji. The album is currently up for pre-order on vinyl through the label’s site along with the group’s website, where you can cop an exclusive pink and blue colored variant.

The album’s announcement is paired with the arrival of a searing new single in “Signal From The Noise,” where the group flips from spacious piano and flute trills to high-octane prog-rock screed (and back) in a dizzying flash. It marks the group’s second transmission of the last calendar year following “The Chocolate Conquistadors,” a funk-fueled link-up with the late MF DOOM released in 2020 as part of a recent Grand Theft Auto Online expansion.

Watch the Duncan Loudon-directed video for BADBADNOTGOOD’s new single “Signal from The Noise” below and scroll on for the full tracklist to Talk Memory. 

Talk Memory Tracklist:

1. Signal From The Noise
2. Unfolding (Momentum 73) feat. Laraajii
3. City of Mirrors feat. Arthur Verocai
4. Beside April feat. Karriem Riggins, Arthur Verocai
5. Love Proceeding feat. Arthur Verocai
6. Open Channels –PHYSICAL ONLY–
7. Timid, Intimidating
8. Beside April Reprise feat. Arthur Verocai
9. Talk Meaning feat. Arthur Verocai, Terrace Martin and Brandee Younger