Sea Girls return with catchy new single ‘Sick’ + announce new album ‘Homesick’

Following on from the Dirt 5 soundtrack single Accident Waiting To Happen as well as the top 3 debut album Open Up Your Head, Sea Girls today return not only with their infectious new single Sick but also with the announcement of their new album Homesick (out January 14th 2022). The new single was premiered by none other than rising artist Arlo Parks as the ‘Hottest Record’ on BBC Radio 1 yesterday night. Listen below.

Frontman Henry Camamile commented on Sick:

Sick is me listing things I’m pissed off with and feeling sorry for myself, it’s a growing up song where I realise I’m no longer a young child. It’s me in my bedroom at home ranting with my thoughts and going down the hole of being pissed. I am sick of everything – from things I used to love through to things that feel vacuous, like consuming and buying. All these emotions are piling up and it’s me just asking for a reset, a childish solution.

It was a turning point in the writing for this album where the songs became about worrying for other people and how they were feeling. The pivot where I started writing clearly with a bigger perspective. I literally feel myself growing up throughout this song.

It’s little to not at all surprising that Homesick was written and recorded during the pandemic. At the start of which frontman Henry returned to his childhood home in Lincolnshire which would be the main inspiration for the 10+ new tracks. The result is a very personal record that sees the lead singer reflect on past events. The album was co-produced by Larry Hibbitt, Jacknife Lee (The Killers, Snow Patrol, Bloc Party), Jonny Coffer and Cass Lowe.

Speaking about making the new album Henry said:

Imagine us locked down in the studio in rainy Brixton working with the producers remotely on the album in California’s Topanga Canyon. That clashing of worlds is the sound of this record, the DNA. Making an album this way, remotely and 5000 miles apart, was a crazy idea and shouldn’t have worked, but it did.

Homesick artwork and tracklisting

  1. Hometown
  2. Sick
  3. Lonely
  4. Someone’s Daughter Someone’s Son
  5. Sleeping With You
  6. Paracetamol Blues
  7. Again Again
  8. Lucky
  9. Higher
  10. Cute Guys
  11. Friends
  12. Watch Your Step (Deluxe Formats)
  13. I Got You (Deluxe Formats)

With new music under their belt, Sea Girls are ready to return to the stage with their infamously raucous live shows to play Readings / Leeds later this month and their biggest UK and European gigs to date starting this October (tickets here*).

Homesick is out on January 14th 2022 via Polydor on limited edition vinyl* and digitally.


Buy official artist merch and vinyl

Buy official artist merch and vinyl

Official Sea Girls Vinyl & Merch*
Sea Girls Tickets*