Watch Common Debut New Single “When We Move” with Black Thought and The Roots on ‘The Tonight Show’


Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers…

Common and Black Thought performing their new single with The Roots on The Tonight Show.Common and Black Thought performing their new single with The Roots on The Tonight Show.

Source: Youtube

The afrobeat-anchored single appears on the upcoming Common album, A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2.

Just days after announcing a sequel to his 2020 project, A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1, Common has unveiled the album’s lead single.

As promised, ahead of the track’s arrival on DSPs this morning, the Chicago rapper and activist took to The Tonight Show stage to debut “When We Move” with Black Thought, The Roots, and Seun Kuti. With the Studio 6B house band at his back, Com, Thought, and a beamed-in Kuti deliver an electric performance of the empowering afrobeat-anchored single, offering a brightly funky glimpse of the rapper’s incoming 14th studio album.

A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2 is slated to drop on September 10th via Loma Vista Recordings, featuring appearances from Brittany Howard, PJ, Isaiah Sharkey, and more. The project will mark Common’s third album in as many years, following 2020’s A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1, and 2019’s Let Love, which serves as an accompanying soundtrack to the rapper’s memoir, Let Love Have The Last Word.

Watch Common debut his new single with Black Thought and The Roots on last night’s episode of The Tonight Show below. Hold tight for A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2 to arrive in the weeks ahead. Scroll on for the album’s full tracklist and pre-order your copy today ahead of the release.

A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2 Tracklist:

1. Intro (Push Out The Noise) (featuring Jessica Care Moore)
2. A Beautiful Chicago Kid (featuring PJ)
3. When We Move (featuring Black Thought and Seun Kuti)
4. Set It Free (featuring PJ)
5. Majesty (Where We Gonna Take It) (featuring PJ)
6. Poetry (featuring Marcus King and Isaiah Sharkey)
7. Saving Grace (featuring Brittany Howard)
8. Star of The Gang (featuring PJ)
9. Imagine (featuring PJ)
10. Get It Right
11. OUTRO (Exclamation Point) (featuring Morgan Parker)