Iron Maiden Announce New Album, ‘Senjutsu’


Bruce Dickinson of Iron Maiden performing live at the Palace of Auburn Hills in Detroit, Michigan.

Bruce Dickinson of Iron Maiden – Story by Anne Erickson, photo by Ken Settle

Here’s everything you need to know about the new Iron Maiden album, “Senjutsu.”

Iron Maiden have announced the details of their 17th studio album, “Senjutsu.” The news comes less than a week following the metal titans premiering a new music video for “The Writing on the Wall,” their first bit of new music in roughly xix years.

“Senjutsu,” which translates to “tactics and stretegy,’ will arrive Sept. 3. Pre-orders start July 21 via Iron Maiden’s website. The upcoming set marks Iron Maiden’s follow-up to 2015’s, “The Book of Souls.”

For the recording, Iron Maiden went back to Guillaume Tell Studio in France  due to its “relaxed vibe,” longtime Iron Maiden bass player and Steve Harris said in a statement. He added, “The setup there is perfect for our needs; the building used to be a cinema and has a really high ceiling so there’s a great acoustic sound. We recorded this album in the same way we did The Book Of Souls in that we’d write a song, rehearse it and then put it down together straight away while it was all fresh in our minds.”

Harris continued, “There’s some very complex songs on this album which took a lot of hard work to get them exactly as we wanted them to sound, so the process was at times very challenging, but Kevin is great at capturing the essence of the band and I think it was worth the effort! I’m very proud of the result and can’t wait for fans to hear it.”

Vocalist Bruce Dickinson added, “We’re all really excited about this album. We recorded it back in early 2019 during a break in the ‘Legacy’ tour so we could maximize our touring yet still have a long set up period before release to prepare great album art and something special as a video.”

Dickinson added, “Of course the pandemic delayed things more – so much for the best laid plans – or should that be ‘strategies’!? The songs are very varied, and some of them are quite long. There’s also one or two songs which sound pretty different to our usual style, and I think Maiden fans will be surprised – in a good way, I hope!”

View the album’s track list below. “Senjutsu” was produced by Kevin “Caveman” Shirley and co-produced by Harris.

Iron Maiden, “Senjutsu,” Track List:

1.” Senjutsu” (8:20)
2. “Stratego” (4:59)
3. “The Writing On The Wall” (6:13)
4. “Lost In A Lost World” (9:31)
. “Days Of Future Past” (4:03)
6. “The Time Machine” (7:09)
7. “Darkest Hour” (7:20)
8. “Death Of The Celts” (10:20)
9. “The Parchment” (12:39)
10. “Hell On Earth” (11:19)



Related Posts