The Meters’ Leo Nocentelli Readies Release of Long-Lost Solo Album, Shares First Single


Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers…

Leo Nocentelli performs live on stage with American funk group the Meters in London in 1976.Leo Nocentelli performs live on stage with American funk group the Meters in London in 1976.

Photo by Michael Putland via Getty Images.

Recorded between 1972 and 1974, the lone solo album from The Meters’ founding guitarist was thought to be lost until 2018.

After nearly 50 years, the debut solo album from The Meters‘ Leo Nocentelli is finally coming off the shelf.

Announced today by Light in The Attic, the project, titled Another Side, was recorded in the early ’70s with contributions from Allen Toussaint, as well as bandmates George Porter Jr. and Zigaboo Modeliste. But as the legendary funk ensemble began to ascend charts and bills across the country, the album was scrapped. Stored in Toussaint’s now-defunct Sea-Saint Studios in New Orleans, the tapes for the Nocentelli’s album were thought to be lost for good after Hurricane Katrina ravaged the space. According to a press release, the tapes miraculously survived and resurfaced on the other side of the country when a record collector picked them up at a California swap meet in 2018. And now, all of those unearthed recordings are set to be released on November 19th via LTA.

Ahead of the album’s release, Light In The Attic has shared the first single from Another Side. A folk ballad with a heavy backbeat, “Thinking of The Day” showcases Nocentelli’s twangy songwriting chops, a hard pivot from the guitarist’s country-funk licks on seminal Meters records like “Cissy Strut” and “Hey Pocky A-Way.”

Hear the first single from Leo Nocentelli’s long-lost solo album below. Scroll on for the full Another Side tracklist and pre-order your copy of the album on vinyl via Light In The Attic today.

Another Side Tracklist:

01 Thinking of the Day
02 Riverfront
03 I Want to Cry
04 Pretty Mittie
05 Give Me Back My Loving
06 Getting Nowhere
07 Till I Get There
08 You’ve Become a Habit
09 Tell Me Why
10 Your Song